1. President Calvin Coolidge presents Distinguished Flying Cross citations to the Pan American Fliers on May 2, 1927. The first to circumnavigate South America by air, they were (left to right): 1st Lt. Charles Robinson, Capt. Arthur McDaniel, 1st Lt. Ennis Whitehead, Maj. Herbert Dargue, President Coolidge, Capt. Ira Eaker, 1st Lt. Muir Fairchild, 1st Lt. Bernard Thompson and 1st Lt. Leonard Weddington. They received the actual medals at a later date.

Leave a Reply